Touchdown Hong Kong

Today is my 2nd week I live in Hong Kong, and from this week onward (2nd September) I continue my study at Polytechnic University Hong Kong which is second best Tourism University based on research output (at least that’s what I heard and read), next after Cornell University – a so called legendary tourism university in the world.

One think I learned from my first 2 week in this bustling city is…

“Time is money”.

In my hometown, when we come late for appointment, we always will be excused. Just say “It’s traffic jam everywhere” or “My tires deflated”. But in Hong Kong, that kind of reasons will be irrational. They have a very punctual mode-of-transportation called MTR (Mass Transit Railway). And although we take bus or taxi, we will rarely got a traffic jam.. VERY RARE. So we will look very stupid if we use those kind of reasoning.

About SHTM Polyu…

SHTM (School of Hotel & Tourism) of Polyu has two doctoral degree program for tourism, which is DHTM and PhD. I take DHTM (Doctor of Hotel and Tourism Management) Program while Ms Hera, take the PhD program. According to the Head of Dept, we are the first Indonesian students who take those program. Both of us got a studentship program from polyu. While ms Hera offered studentship for research activity, I offered a studentship for teaching at Polyu Undergraduate program. And believe it or not, I taught 7 classes on my 2nd week in Hong Kong.

Challenging yet exciting!! Wish me luck…